What do I want?

”What do you want to do when you grow up? What do you want to study, where do you want to live? Do you want children?” Questions like these constantly swirl through my mind, day in day out. As of right now I am in junior year, meaning that in two years I will be graduated. In school we sometimes discuss where everyone wants to study and when we do, I always keep quiet.

I have so many dreams. I want to study yet a the same time I want to take a Gap-Year. If it ever would be possible and inexpensive I would prefer to complete multiple bachelors and one or perhaps two majors. Why? Because I want to learn!

Right now I feel intrigued by Film Studies. There is this college in Amsterdam where I can see myself studying and part of me wants to do everything possible to go to that specific school. But that isn’t an University, it’s an HBO. It’s easier, I guess would be the easiest explanation. With the certificate that I will get as soon as I graduate from High School, I will be able to go to all universities or HBO’s. But because I studied this high level (I guess it’s similar to AP classes), I feel the need to go to university.

So then there’s astronomy which has always been so interesting to me. For that you need to be really good at physics and well.. I’m not. Still, I would love to work hard to learn about space and planets and stars…

At the moment I am thinking about taking a gap-year after High School. In this gap year I had hoped to go to a High School in America (even though their schools would be ‘too easy’ for me as I would have graduated already) but apparently that isn’t possible at the age of 18. So then I was thinking about studying abroad. A few months learning English in an English-speaking country would be so cool!

There’s so much I want to do and see. I want to learn, travel and experience but right now I cannot do any of those things. I’m stuck with High School for two more years, but I’m okay with that. I can’t imagine my High School years to be over. These people that I met are so special to me. I can’t imagine a life without them..

Has any of you studied abroad? If so, what did you study and where? I’d love to know!

 

Leave a Reply

