The Mockingjay, Part 2 #review

The initial release was in November 2015, it was a while ago and I have no idea why it took me this long to watch it. I am a huge fan of the Hunger Games series and of course I could not wait to see this film, I guess I sort of forgot about watching it.. Anyway, today a review of this film.

Director Francis Lawrence did a great job if you ask me. I actually really enjoyed it.

Summary
After Katniss had over won two hunger games, she was now in a war. Snow had been holding Peeta with him but now Peeta was freed. All the drama seems to be over when it turns out that Peeta is possesed by some mutant-ish thing which wants to kill Katniss. Katniss, being Katniss, is going to try to kill Snow. Together with Gale, Finnick and more survivors and friends she leaves District 13. On their journey to assassinate president Snow, they find out that thousands of dangerous traps lay ahead. People who seemed to be on their side, turn out to be a lot different and moral choices will be made that will ultimately determine the future of Panem.

Main Characters (in my opinion)
Katniss Everdeen played by Jennifer Lawrence
President Snow played by Donald Sutherland
Peeta Mellark played by Josh Hutcherson
Gale Hawthome played by Liam Hemsworth
Finnick Odair played by Sam Claflin
Haymitch Abernathy played by Woody Harrelson

Positive
Very very good acting skills. Honestly my favorite characters were Peeta and Finnick. I loved how there were mutants that had a similar face to the Grievers from the Maze Runner. About that, I saw a lot of similarities between these two films. Spoiler! There was a part where Katniss and her friends get trapped in by these huge walls closing. Just like the Maze Runner! And then also the mutants like I said, and then the background that obviously was animated. I loved the traps Snow had set up and it was done so amazingly well. Really loved the action-side of the story.

Negative
I really really dislike Katniss. I did before seeing the movie, but now I hate her even more. She is so stubborn and plain stupid, goes for two boys at the same time and she simply gets on my nerves. And she leaves Finnick for dead! How could she? He had saved her multiply times and he was just married!

Then there was, like I mentioned, the love romance between Katniss and Peeta and Katniss and Gale that I disliked. She kept going on switching between who she was kissing. Really disturbing but it did portrait quite good how real life was sometimes. Normally my favorite character is the main character of a movie, but not this time and I think that is actually good.

Then there was the background. When the group of friends were walking outside, towards Snow’s mansion, and the camera slided so that you saw buildings on the background, it looked like it was filmed with an fish-eye lense. Maybe it was just because of my television, but if it wasn’t I strongly disliked it. It looked pretty green-screen ish and in a bad way.

Lastly there were lots of parts I predicted right. Like the fact that Coin was planning on taking the power, Katniss who decided to kill Coin instead of Snow and the time there were 3 traps in a row.

The last scene of the movie was simply unnecesarry and in my opinion stupid. Seeing how Peeta en Katniss had kids did not make a dramatic ending.

Conclusion
Over all I enjoyed this movie lots. Unfortunately this is the last one of the Hunger Games series but it was a good one. I loved the quote ‘You love me, real or not real?’ ‘Real.’ and oh well. I give MockingJay part 2 a 8 out of 10.

Disclaimer: I do not own the media in this post. With media I mean photos.

 

Leave a Reply

